PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone use aluminum for bodies etc?

my65pan
07-24-2006, 06:46 PM
Hi, I just found this forum. I have launched small rocket kits at various points in my life but I just got back into it with my son. We have been building Estes kits, but we lost our last one on Sunday. When we got home I cobbled together some cardboard tube, etc. and home brewed a rocket. I'm a machinist and I have a lathe in the garage, so I turned and bored a nosecone from a chunk of nylon, and we were back in business. The rocket flew fine and got me to thinking, so I have begun building a rocket from aluminum. I took 7.5 inches of 7/8" diameter aluminum tubing and bored one end to accept the cone and the other for a motor mount. I turned and bored a nosecone from aluminum and some bushings for the motor mount from delryn (plastic). I used a small strip of spring steel for a motor clip. The fins will be aluminum also. I apologize if my terms for things aren't correct.

I realize cardboard is lighter and cheaper, but I thought it would be a fun project and I wondered if anyone else uses aluminum?

I would post pics, but I don't have an image host at this time.
Mark.

CPMcGraw
07-24-2006, 08:07 PM
Hi, I just found this forum...got me to thinking, so I have begun building a rocket from aluminum. I took 7.5 inches of 7/8" diameter aluminum tubing and bored one end to accept the cone and the other for a motor mount...

I realize cardboard is lighter and cheaper, but I thought it would be a fun project and I wondered if anyone else uses aluminum?

Mark,

It's great to experiment with rocketry, but you'll find nearly everone on this list follows the NAR Safety Code religiously.

You might want to check the NAR code, part 1, even if you're not a member of that organization. Note: