PDA

View Full Version : Spare Parts

Pyromaniac
12-28-2014, 09:12 AM
If anyone has any spare parts (Body tubes, nose cones, fins, motor mounts)it would be so much appreciated if you could email me, Thanks. [EDIT] also Im new to building my own custom rockets so whats is the best material to build fins and nose cones from. BTW Im new here but im not that new to model rocketry.

luke strawwalker
12-28-2014, 02:14 PM
If anyone has any spare parts (Body tubes, nose cones, fins, motor mounts)it would be so much appreciated if you could email me, Thanks. [EDIT] also Im new to building my own custom rockets so whats is the best material to build fins and nose cones from. BTW Im new here but im not that new to model rocketry.

Balsa... either from online sources, or your local hobby shop or Hobby Lobby... they stock enough for fins and nosecones.

Nosecones can be hand carved or you can rig up a simple "lathe" from an electric drill that will make a functional nosecone turning device-- and using a variety of sandpaper grits and some work, you can turn out any shape nosecone you could want. Oftentimes, it's easier to just buy the nosecone you want from various vendors... Semroc was the best, but they're unfortunately shutting down, but there are numerous online sources for parts/nosecones/transitions/tubes/etc.