PDA

View Full Version : Painting Problem

zeke1312
05-04-2007, 11:29 AM
I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to use for the following question. I apologize if so. I've been building a Nike Ajax rocket and I'm at the painting stage. I started painting last fall, applying 4 primer coats spaced 3 or more days apart, then 3 coats of white semi-gloss painting spraying each coat evenly as possible.

Yesterday, I applied a 4th coat of white paint and noticed an area where the fin in question attached to the tube body began to wrinkle(orange peel?). Elmers white glue was used to attach all body parts.

After drying, I sanded the area in question which ran somewhat parallel to the body down to the primer and painted again with the white finish coat. It began to wrinkle again but a larger area now appeared. I am using Kilz primer and Krylon finish.

I then sanded down to the bare balsa wood and have started to apply primer. I plan to apply another primer coat in a couple of days.

Any idea what is happening here? What's the best way to feather the bare wood to the painted area or should I sand the whole side of the fin and start over?

The rest of the rocket body paint looks good.

Doug Sams
05-04-2007, 12:09 PM
I am using Kilz primer and Krylon finish.I'm worried about compatibility between these two. Kilz is an oil-based primer (You did use the oil-based and not the water-based, right?) and you're covering it with a hot enamel (ie, almost a lacquer). I would think you're better off using an automotive spray primer (ie, something hot like the Krylon).

That said, I think you're also being way too careful. You don't need to wait "3 or more days" between primer coats. With Kilz - double check the label - but I think you can space thin coats about an hour apart. With automotive primers, 20 minutes works well.