PDA

View Full Version : Want thoughts on a cluster idea

Veracity
10-29-2007, 07:14 PM
To all,

Although launching is not new to me, I have only built five rockets of my own design. My next project will be my first foray into the world of cluster launching.

My new idea is to create a BT80 size rocket...two tube lengths long (30 in.?) and make it D/E capable. (I already made a rocket like that and it flies beautifully.) This time, I'd like to experiment with two small "booster rockets" which would be mounted to the sides of the BT80, at the base. BT20s with cones on them. No engine mounts...just a small ring inside the tubes which keeps the engine from breaking its way up through the cone.

When their ejection charges fire, the booster engines will push themselves out of the tubes. The main engine, the D/E will supply the ejection charge.

I just downloaded SimRoc and it's amazing. I cannot seem to get it to simulate this for me (I'm new to it). but I wanted to get some opinions from the forum readers.

V

CPMcGraw
10-29-2007, 08:39 PM
...When their ejection charges fire, the booster engines will push themselves out of the tubes...

And to think most of us spend an inordinate amount of time trying to keep motors from doing this very thing...

Are you doing this to prevent the deployment charges of these motors from activating the recovery package prematurely? Or are you just trying to dump the mass of the motors?

In either case, my recomendation is don't. Instead, plug the top ends of the booster tubes and open up multiple 3/16" or 1/4" side vents from each booster to let the pressure out. You can dress these up to look like APU exhausts...

RockSim is a great tool, and you can use it to work up some interesting designs. It has a learning curve, which can be stiff if you've never seen it before, but it grows on you after a while.

Veracity
10-29-2007, 10:37 PM
Craig,