PDA

View Full Version : Enerjet Athena

Mark II
01-18-2008, 03:58 AM
It seems like if you ask any BARs for their list of all-time favorite rocket kits, the Centuri Orion is almost always among the top 5 mentioned (and deservedly so, too). Yesterday, while I was looking at the 1972 Enerjet catalog on the Ninfinger site, I came upon the catalog page for the Athena, which I guess could be called Orion's big sister. Well, I have to tell you all that looking at that page just took my breath away. What a stunningly beautiful rocket!

http://www.ninfinger.org/~sven/rockets/catalogs/enerjet72/72ejet12.html (http://www.ninfinger.org/%7Esven/rockets/catalogs/enerjet72/72ejet12.html)

Even though I was around and bulding rockets during some of the "old days" in the 1960's, I was away from the hobby when most of the great kits came out, and I'm still learning about them. Does anyone have any stories to tell about this kit, which must have surely been one of the greatest ever produced? And has anyone recently built a clone of the Athena?

Mark

ghrocketman
01-18-2008, 09:20 AM
I cloned it a couple of years ago, even with the correct Orion/Saturn 1B wraps cut correctly for the Athena and a correctly molded nose cone from Moldin' Oldies.
Detail painting is not complete, but the decals are on.
I also have enough parts to clone another one.
I can dig up a pic this evening if you are interested.

Mark II
01-18-2008, 09:35 AM
I cloned it a couple of years ago, even with the correct Orion/Saturn 1B wraps cut correctly for the Athena and a correctly molded nose cone from Moldin' Oldies.
I can dig up a pic this evening if you are interested.
If you could post a pic, that would be great. I'd really like to see an actual built one. How did you create the wraps?

Mark

moonzero2
01-18-2008, 04:24 PM
Yea, good question,... how did you create the wraps???????

ghrocketman
01-18-2008, 10:36 PM
I did not create the wraps.....I bought them from Neubauer !