Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Ye Olde Rocket Forum (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/index.php)
-   Software (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Screenshots - 02-26-2009 (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/showthread.php?t=4772)

CPMcGraw 02-26-2009 11:42 PM

Screenshots - 02-26-2009
 
4 Attachment(s)
I've been revising my old website code, and changed the appearance of the menu. The code is now more JavaScript-based, using the JQuery library. Please note, I'm not totally comfortable with this library yet, but the menu code works well enough that I'm going to do the wise thing and leave it alone for now. :D

The previous attempt to do this was a disaster when Scott and I tried to upload the database into the Rocketshoppe server. We tried several different ways to get the scripts and data loaded, but it simply would not accept it. So I'm going to get the images and RockSim files loaded in the old-fashioned way - directly, from folders...

I think we're a lot closer this time than we were before...

And yes, I listen to AP for inspiration...

These shots were taken from Google Chrome...

LeeR 02-28-2009 08:59 PM

Craig,

Note: Your footer says "gratiously hosted by ...", and it should be "graciously hosted by ..."

Unless you meant "gratuitously hosted by ...", but then it is still mispelled.

:)

Sorry, I'm an old engineer that can spell ... probably explains why I've been in marketing for so long, and not doing engineering anymore.

CPMcGraw 03-01-2009 11:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeR
Craig,

Note: Your footer says "gratiously hosted by ...", and it should be "graciously hosted by ..."

Unless you meant "gratuitously hosted by ...", but then it is still mispelled.

:)

Sorry, I'm an old engineer that can spell ... probably explains why I've been in marketing for so long, and not doing engineering anymore.


Thanks, Lee. I'd never noticed it in all the years since I originally typed it into the file.

CPMcGraw 03-30-2009 01:16 AM

Browser issues...
 
Folks,

I'm having to drop support for Internet Explorer on this project. The reason is that IE simply doesn't behave nice with scripts that virtually all of the other browsers handle absolutely beautifully. I've got Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and even Opera on my computer for testing, and all four of those display the scripting identically, or very close to it. All of them "stay inside the lines", and put display elements where I tell them to.

The big killer item is a single IFrame used to display dynamic content (design pages) which is contained inside a DIV element. This allows me to easily adjust the positioning with CSS and a little jQuery for fine-tuning to each user's screen resolution. The four browsers above, which all appear to be Netscape-derived, place things exactly as the CSS tells them. IE, on the other hand, totally ignores the CSS positioning of the IFrame, pinning the upper left corner at the upper left of the screen, instead of the DIV.

Until this behavior changes in IE, I'm simply going to direct IE users to a "Nag Screen" which tells them I'm not supporting it at this time. I see no reason to write two versions of this website just to support a non-compliant hack job.

FWIW, even IE8 is plagued with this issue.

mycrofte 03-30-2009 03:13 AM

I wouldn't doubt "Bill" still has IE using his Microsoft ONLY version of Java. Even after being sued for it...

LeeR 03-30-2009 11:59 PM

I use IE when the other browsers cannot handle something. This happens rarely anymore. :)

I like both Firefox and Chrome -- I use Firefox for default browser, and I use Chrome for all the forums, since it is so easy to preload a bunch of websites at startup. I also like the way it has thumbnails of previous browsing when you open a new tab. I ran into a really funky website that Chrome didn't like, but so far, it seems very compatible.

Doug Sams 03-31-2009 07:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
I see no reason to write two versions of this website just to support a non-compliant hack job.
If you look up MicroSoft in the dictionary, it says: non-compliant hack job :D

Seriously, I think I need to make up a bumper sticker with that on it. I'll give you royalties if it sells :)

Doug

.

CPMcGraw 03-31-2009 09:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Sams
If you look up MicroSoft in the dictionary, it says: non-compliant hack job :D

Seriously, I think I need to make up a bumper sticker with that on it. I'll give you royalties if it sells :)

Doug

.


With the logo of IE behind a slash-circle... :rolleyes:

Might have to work that one up... :D

CPMcGraw 04-01-2009 12:22 AM

Proof in the pudding...
 
5 Attachment(s)
All,

Look how closely the website is rendered in the four Netscape-derived browsers. This is what I have been trying to achieve for the last several years, ever since starting this update project.

Also, note the Nag Screen I've created for those who just won't upgrade either their browser from IE, or who insist on trying to view a graphics-oriented site with any monitor that cannot reproduce at least 1024 pixels across...

v_thunder 04-09-2009 02:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
Folks,

I'm having to drop support for Internet Explorer on this project. The reason is that IE simply doesn't behave nice with scripts that virtually all of the other browsers handle absolutely beautifully. I've got Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and even Opera on my computer for testing, and all four of those display the scripting identically, or very close to it. All of them "stay inside the lines", and put display elements where I tell them to.

The big killer item is a single IFrame used to display dynamic content (design pages) which is contained inside a DIV element. This allows me to easily adjust the positioning with CSS and a little jQuery for fine-tuning to each user's screen resolution. The four browsers above, which all appear to be Netscape-derived, place things exactly as the CSS tells them. IE, on the other hand, totally ignores the CSS positioning of the IFrame, pinning the upper left corner at the upper left of the screen, instead of the DIV.

Until this behavior changes in IE, I'm simply going to direct IE users to a "Nag Screen" which tells them I'm not supporting it at this time. I see no reason to write two versions of this website just to support a non-compliant hack job.

FWIW, even IE8 is plagued with this issue.


I remember a project where it was chosen not to support a single version of IE due to some issues such as that and a few other ones. Looking good though, checked out your other posts of screen shots.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.