View Single Post
  #1  
Old 01-31-2018, 04:03 AM
blackshire's Avatar
blackshire blackshire is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 5,571
Default F9 GovSat 1 launch (link)

Hello All,

Tomorrow (Wednesday), SpaceX will try again (today's attempt was scrubbed due to a sensor in the Falcon 9's second stage) to launch the GovSat 1 satellite aboard a Falcon 9, whose early-model, used first stage will be making its second and last flight (see: http://spaceflightnow.com/2018/01/3...d-stage-sensor/ ). Even so, the first stage has landing legs and grid fins, so SpaceX may conduct a re-entry/descent/landing experiment, as they have recently done at least once before with such a used, expendable first stage. The launch window will be from 4:25 PM EST (2125 GMT) to 6:46 PM EST (2346 GMT), and live coverage of the launch will be here (see: http://spaceflightnow.com/2018/01/3...-status-center/ ), and--concerning "the big 'un":

SpaceX is aiming for February 6th as the launch date for the first Falcon Heavy vehicle (see: http://spaceflightnow.com/2018/01/2...vy-test-launch/ ).
__________________
Black Shire--Draft horse in human form, model rocketeer, occasional mystic, and writer, see:
http://www.lulu.com/content/paperba...an-form/8075185
http://www.lulu.com/product/cd/what...of-2%29/6122050
http://www.lulu.com/product/cd/what...of-2%29/6126511
All of my book proceeds go to the Northcote Heavy Horse Centre www.northcotehorses.com.
NAR #54895 SR
Reply With Quote