Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > The Doctor is In! > Ask the Doctor
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 11-02-2015, 02:42 PM
Junior Rocketeer

Default Two-stage booster damage

I'm pretty new to this hobby and yesterday launched my first 2-stage rocket an Estes Express. I used a D12-0 in the booster and a C11-5 in the second stage. The rocket flew well, the separation was clean and the chute deployed. The only problem was that after separation the booster came straight down, nose first and augered into the ground about 30 feet from the launch pad. The front of the tube was chewed up, a fin broke loose, and the tube buckled just forward of the rear centering ring. Is this normal? Shouldn't the booster have tumbled to lessen the impact?
Old 11-02-2015, 03:34 PM
Old Far...er...Rocketeer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roscoe1951
I'm pretty new to this hobby and yesterday launched my first 2-stage rocket an Estes Express. I used a D12-0 in the booster and a C11-5 in the second stage. The rocket flew well, the separation was clean and the chute deployed. The only problem was that after separation the booster came straight down, nose first and augered into the ground about 30 feet from the launch pad. The front of the tube was chewed up, a fin broke loose, and the tube buckled just forward of the rear centering ring. Is this normal? Shouldn't the booster have tumbled to lessen the impact?
To be clear, CC Express? I've never flown one of these (but have flown many, many BP stagers). Eye-balling the booster, it looks like it ought to tumble. The common causes for not tumbling are that there's too much weight forward in the booster stage, or the fins are mounted too far aft.

If you used an extra long coupler, that could have shifted the weight too far forward.