Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > The Doctor is In! > Ask the Doctor
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 05-31-2015, 12:55 PM
Junior Rocketeer

Default How to repair engine mounting system in Big Bertha

Hi all,

I'm a VERY casual builder and claim no expertise. My engine mount in my Big Bertha was damaged and needs to be replaced. I managed to get the unit out, but I don't know how to replace it. Does Estes sell replacement parts like that? Also, I can't quite remember the build. I'm assuming I just put glue on the cardboard washer things and position the unit in place to dry in the body tube. Is that right...?

Thanks!
Old 05-31-2015, 01:16 PM
BP Mafia

Sand as much of the old glue and cardboard from inside the tube as possible, then rebuild the mount and slide it in. This would be a good time to upgrade the recovery system if you have a mind to with Kevlar. The parts should be easy to find. Two CR-2060 rings, an 18mm engine hook, a 520 engine block and a length of BT-20 would be all you need. As for length on the BT-20, the normal 2.75" length should work fine, but some opt for a longer piece of BT-20 to fill a little more of the Bertha body tube to make it easier for the ejection charge to push out the recovery system. Check Semroc for the parts. If you want to go the Kevlar route, PM me with your address and I'll sent you a yard. I have a "little" extra.

http://wallyum.blogspot.com/

I miss being SAM 0058

Build floor: Centuri Design Contest F-150 Hurricane Estes - Low Boom SST Semroc - Gee'Hod, Shrike, SST Shuttle

In paint: Canaroc Starfighter Scorpion Estes F-22 Air Superiority Fighter, Solar Sailer II Semroc Cyber III

Ready to fly: Estes - Multi-Roc, Solar Sailer II Semroc - Earmark, Snake Jumper
Old 05-31-2015, 04:55 PM
Old Far...er...Rocketeer

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Fish Named Wallyum