Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > RockSim Asylum
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2009, 11:45 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default RockSim 9.0.2 Build 72 Now Available

Changes for version 9.0.2 (Build 72)
  • The check for updates code has been moved into the main RockSim application. This was done to simplify the update process and get around some Windows security issues. The external rsupdate application is no longer used.
  • The simulation plot start and end time selections have been restored. There was an issue with the new plot engine that was preventing users from changing the start and end time between plots. I have found a work around for this bug.
  • Windows: Fixed a typo in the Windows file type association setup. This bug was preventing the .rkt design files from opening correctly in RockSim 9. In some cases RockSim was crashing when attempting to open a .rkt design file by double clicking in Windows Explorer.

Be sure to download the full version.
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2009, 08:00 AM
pantherjon's Avatar
pantherjon pantherjon is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hinesville, Georgia
Posts: 1,071
Default

Ahhh, that last fix listed had cropped up on me from time to time! Would happen when also trying to open(download) a *.rkt file from a website and instructing Windoze to 'Open With Rocksim'..Would get the 'We are sorry RockSim has encountered a problem and has to close' error message..Glad they were able to find out what was causing it and fix it.

Been slacking and haven't played in RS for a couple weeks!
__________________
Jon
SAM #0396
BAR 02/07
NAR 86940
KF4GUL
Aim high, fly straight!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:51 AM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pantherjon
Ahhh, that last fix listed had cropped up on me from time to time! Would happen when also trying to open(download) a *.rkt file from a website and instructing Windoze to 'Open With Rocksim'..Would get the 'We are sorry RockSim has encountered a problem and has to close' error message..Glad they were able to find out what was causing it and fix it.

Been slacking and haven't played in RS for a couple weeks!


Don't get too happy...

It still crashes on Vista. I had it happen last night, after installing the update, and sent Tim & Paul an email with the error data Windows generated. I think it's trying to load the RKT file before it finishes loading the databases, which is generating a conflict.
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:06 PM
rkt2k1 rkt2k1 is offline
Just another BAR!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
Don't get too happy...

It still crashes on Vista. I had it happen last night, after installing the update, and sent Tim & Paul an email with the error data Windows generated. I think it's trying to load the RKT file before it finishes loading the databases, which is generating a conflict.



Got same results running latest version on Windows XP !

Something still not right with this particular fix. It also now seems that the program startup display seems to be askew for a few seconds when opening Rocksim directly.

I'm sure they will get it worked out!

Any interest in starting an outstanding "bug-tracking" list for Rocksim in the software section of Barclone?

Folks would be informed of the latest known issues and we would be able to collectively provide feedback to Tim & Paul at Apogee, helping to improve an already great piece of software.

... Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:39 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkt2k1
Got same results running latest version on Windows XP !

Something still not right with this particular fix. It also now seems that the program startup display seems to be askew for a few seconds when opening Rocksim directly.

I'm sure they will get it worked out!

Any interest in starting an outstanding "bug-tracking" list for Rocksim in the software section of Barclone?

Folks would be informed of the latest known issues and we would be able to collectively provide feedback to Tim & Paul at Apogee, helping to improve an already great piece of software.

... Bill


I noticed that startup funkiness, too.

I'll start a thread "Bugs and Issues" and let everyone chime in as to what they're seeing. Although RockSim is not per se a BARCLONE project, we use it for all of our design and development. I think TRF has a similar thread (or threads)...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:48 PM
snaquin's Avatar
snaquin snaquin is offline
The_Ripper
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,440
Default

I haven't noticed any start up issues with the new version running on Windows XP but I only used it for a short while last night after installing it. I'll look for that .....

I always copy the new full version file that I download and back it up with my license file for good measure.

I always copy my current data files over whatever it installs since I have all my great new SEMROC items in those files. One thing I never check is to see if anything new has popped up in the data files Apogee supplies with each new version. Anyone else checking this?

.
__________________
Steve Naquin
TRA# 677 L2
NAR# 85518 L2
SAM# 0052

Last edited by snaquin : 02-13-2009 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:36 PM
Gus's Avatar
Gus Gus is offline
7/21/61
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Detroit
Posts: 1,748
Default

No Mac issues, but I've not been doing anything too intensive. My old files seem to open without problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ye Olde Rocket Shoppe 1998-2018