Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > The Doctor is In! > Ask the Doctor
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 11-24-2009, 08:53 AM
Intermediate Rocketeer

Default New Semroc Saturn 1B for newbie

Hello,

I am new to this hobby and just got a semroc Saturn 1B and have a few questions. My Dr. Zooch Sat V recommended fin hardening with CA; should I do the same with the 1B? The recommended motors for the 1B are D12-3 and D15-3; can I use an AT E15-3 or similar? What do I fill/harden the tubes with during construction? I am going to buy an Apogee capsule to avoid that area as I do not think my skills are there yet.
Old 11-24-2009, 09:12 AM
President, MAYHEM AGITATORS, Inc.

You do not have to fill/harden the tubes with anything.
The Apogee capsule is a great upgrade and I purchased 3 for my Saturn 1B's and Little Joe II.
Yes, you can fly on greater than a D15-4; You can use the E15SU/E18RMS, E28RMS/E30SU, as well as the F24 RMS24 and F39 RMS24.

It flies really great on the F24-4 RMS; it does not fly any better on a D12-3 than a Saturn V does.

Yes, there is such a thing as NORMAL
, if you have to ask what is "NORMAL" , you probably aren't !

Failure may not be an OPTION, but it is ALWAYS a POSSIBILITY.
ALL systems are GO for MAYHEM, CHAOS, and HAVOC !
Old 11-24-2009, 09:25 AM
Intermediate Rocketeer

Default Sat 1B

Thanks!

As I said, I am new to this and appreciate your help. What are the flight characteristics on an E15-3? I just ordered the Apogee capsule so I am getting ready to begin.
Old 11-24-2009, 09:29 AM
Dazed and Confused

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghrocketman
It flies really great on the F24-4 RMS; it does not fly any better on a D12-3 than a Saturn V does.