Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > RockSim Asylum
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2010, 08:21 PM
stefanj stefanj is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 2,506
Default Crash on startup . . . 9.0.5.80

I started up RockSim for the first time in months last Saturday. Worked just fine. I entered data on a model, ran a few sims.

I opened and closed the program several times that evening. No problems.

I had it look for updates. It found one, but couldn't download it from Apogee for some reason.

On Sunday, I started up the program again. D'oh! It crashed on start. I got the Windows XP "...has encountered a problem and needs to close" box.

Here is the Error signature stuff:

AppName: rocksim.exe AppVer: 9.0.5.80 ModName: advapi32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.5755 Offset: 0000eb75

Is there I way I can update without actually having RockSim running?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2010, 11:13 AM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanj
I started up RockSim for the first time in months last Saturday. Worked just fine. I entered data on a model, ran a few sims.

I opened and closed the program several times that evening. No problems.

I had it look for updates. It found one, but couldn't download it from Apogee for some reason.

On Sunday, I started up the program again. D'oh! It crashed on start. I got the Windows XP "...has encountered a problem and needs to close" box.

Here is the Error signature stuff:

AppName: rocksim.exe AppVer: 9.0.5.80 ModName: advapi32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.5755 Offset: 0000eb75

Is there I way I can update without actually having RockSim running?


Locate the license file (*.ilf) and save it somewhere you can find it again.

Save all of your working CSV files from the DATA folder.

Download a fresh (full) copy of RockSim. Something failed during the previous download and corrupted the installation. Fully delete the current installation, then delete the remaining files in the RockSim folder.

Install the fresh copy, but do not run it. Create a new subfolder within the main RockSim folder and copy all of the 'new' CSV files into it. Rename it "DATA BACKUP", or something similar. Now, move your original CSV files directly into the DATA folder.

Now run RockSim and point it to your license file. You should see the version as 9.0.8 Build 84, or possibly something newer. Tim announced a new build just a few days ago.
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2010, 11:24 AM
stefanj stefanj is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 2,506
Default

Thanks, I'll give that a try tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2010, 07:36 PM
snaquin's Avatar
snaquin snaquin is offline
The_Ripper
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
You should see the version as 9.0.8 Build 84, or possibly something newer. Tim announced a new build just a few days ago.


A new version downloaded today when I ran RockSim. The notes since build 84 that were referenced in the download:

Version information
Apogee Components RockSim
Version: 9.0.9f87
Copyright: 2008 Paul L. Fossey
Production release, Build: 87


Changes for version 9.0.9 (Build 86)
Fixed a bug on the graph plotting screen. Displayed units were reverting to the internal metric units each time plot settings changed. User designated units are now retained.
Fixed a crash bug on the 2D flight profile screen. Rapidly moving the time slider back and forth was crashing RockSim on some systems.
Changed the default tab on the Inside Tube editor screen to General.
Added three new display columns to the simulation summary table. (Launch mass, Launch CG, Launch CP, and Launch static margin)
Changed the default location used by RockSim to store data files and simulation output files. The location of the RockSim data files is dependent on which on the operating system on your computer. This change replaces the related changes in version 9.0.8.84.
In the examples below, the UserName entry will be you own user name.
Version is the RockSim major version number.

Windows XP:
C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\Local Settings\Application Data\ApogeeComponents\Rocksim_Version/

Windows Vista and Windows 7:
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\ApogeeComponents\R ocksim_Version

Mac OS X:
/Users/UserName/Library/Application Support/ApogeeComponents/RockSim_Version

.
__________________
Steve Naquin
TRA# 677 L2
NAR# 85518 L2
SAM# 0052
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2010, 08:53 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Just updated my installation. Followed my own advice with the CSV files, and it actually worked.

Gotta wonder what Tim and Paul have in store for v10...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ye Olde Rocket Shoppe 1998-2018