Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Weather-Cocked > FreeForAll
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 07-05-2011, 08:51 PM
Junior Rocketeer

Default Rocket Birthday Party

Sorry if this is in the wrong thread, but I need a bit of advice. Please feel free to comment on anything below.

I'm having a rocket birthday party for my to be 6 year old son (there will be 5 & 6 year olds there). My plan is to buy each kid a ready to fly rocket (probably the Athena), and help them do final assembly. I'd also like to let them do some decorating.... I'm guessing with markers.

Then I'll help each kid launch. I'm sure bunches of kids will go off chasing the landing rockets.

Aside from making sure that the kids don't touch the hot part when retrieving the rockets, am I crazy? I'm no rocket expert, but I figure this is doable.

On engines, I could use some advice. Buy a big variety pack or just a bunch of A-class or B-Class or C-class?

Anyone have any thoughts/suggestions?

Thanks.
Old 07-05-2011, 09:13 PM
BP Mafia

Drawing a blank on the Athema, but assuming that it has a plastic fin can, this would be the way to go. Depending on the size of the rocket and field, figure on a bulk pack of A8-3 or B6-4 engines. Remember that roaming packs of little feet are likely to be hazardous to the recovery of complete rockets. Estes and Quest, and possibly even Custom, have bulk packs available for rockets. Might save you a few motor bucks. Another possible bird is the Edmonds Tinee, an easy to build glider that flies on mini motors. They can be bought in bulk, also.

http://wallyum.blogspot.com/

I miss being SAM 0058

Build floor: Estes - Low Boom SST Semroc - Marauder, Shrike, SST Shuttle

In paint: Canaroc - Starfighter Scorpion Centuri - Mini Dactyl Estes - F-22 Air Superiority Fighter, Multi-Roc, Solar Sailer II, Xarconian Cruiser Semroc - Cyber III