Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > BARCLONE > Software
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2009, 11:42 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default Screenshots - 02-26-2009

I've been revising my old website code, and changed the appearance of the menu. The code is now more JavaScript-based, using the JQuery library. Please note, I'm not totally comfortable with this library yet, but the menu code works well enough that I'm going to do the wise thing and leave it alone for now.

The previous attempt to do this was a disaster when Scott and I tried to upload the database into the Rocketshoppe server. We tried several different ways to get the scripts and data loaded, but it simply would not accept it. So I'm going to get the images and RockSim files loaded in the old-fashioned way - directly, from folders...

I think we're a lot closer this time than we were before...

And yes, I listen to AP for inspiration...

These shots were taken from Google Chrome...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot #1 02-26-2009.jpg
Views: 114
Size:  183.0 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot #2 02-26-2009.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  196.5 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot #3 02-26-2009.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  198.1 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  Screenshot #4 02-26-2009.jpg
Views: 101
Size:  198.2 KB  
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2009, 08:59 PM
LeeR's Avatar
LeeR LeeR is offline
Retired with Way Too Many Kits
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,608
Default

Craig,

Note: Your footer says "gratiously hosted by ...", and it should be "graciously hosted by ..."

Unless you meant "gratuitously hosted by ...", but then it is still mispelled.



Sorry, I'm an old engineer that can spell ... probably explains why I've been in marketing for so long, and not doing engineering anymore.
__________________
Lee Reep
NAR 55948, L2

Projects: Mars Snooper, Viper
In the Paint/Detailing shop: Estes Saturn 1B, Red Nova, STM-Bandit, Honest John, Der Saturn Max
Completed!: Interceptor-E, Mini Honest John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2009, 11:27 AM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeR
Craig,

Note: Your footer says "gratiously hosted by ...", and it should be "graciously hosted by ..."

Unless you meant "gratuitously hosted by ...", but then it is still mispelled.



Sorry, I'm an old engineer that can spell ... probably explains why I've been in marketing for so long, and not doing engineering anymore.


Thanks, Lee. I'd never noticed it in all the years since I originally typed it into the file.
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2009, 01:16 AM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default Browser issues...

Folks,

I'm having to drop support for Internet Explorer on this project. The reason is that IE simply doesn't behave nice with scripts that virtually all of the other browsers handle absolutely beautifully. I've got Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and even Opera on my computer for testing, and all four of those display the scripting identically, or very close to it. All of them "stay inside the lines", and put display elements where I tell them to.

The big killer item is a single IFrame used to display dynamic content (design pages) which is contained inside a DIV element. This allows me to easily adjust the positioning with CSS and a little jQuery for fine-tuning to each user's screen resolution. The four browsers above, which all appear to be Netscape-derived, place things exactly as the CSS tells them. IE, on the other hand, totally ignores the CSS positioning of the IFrame, pinning the upper left corner at the upper left of the screen, instead of the DIV.

Until this behavior changes in IE, I'm simply going to direct IE users to a "Nag Screen" which tells them I'm not supporting it at this time. I see no reason to write two versions of this website just to support a non-compliant hack job.

FWIW, even IE8 is plagued with this issue.
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2009, 03:13 AM
mycrofte's Avatar
mycrofte mycrofte is offline
Trust me, it'll work!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,639
Default

I wouldn't doubt "Bill" still has IE using his Microsoft ONLY version of Java. Even after being sued for it...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:59 PM
LeeR's Avatar
LeeR LeeR is offline
Retired with Way Too Many Kits
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,608
Default

I use IE when the other browsers cannot handle something. This happens rarely anymore.

I like both Firefox and Chrome -- I use Firefox for default browser, and I use Chrome for all the forums, since it is so easy to preload a bunch of websites at startup. I also like the way it has thumbnails of previous browsing when you open a new tab. I ran into a really funky website that Chrome didn't like, but so far, it seems very compatible.
__________________
Lee Reep
NAR 55948, L2

Projects: Mars Snooper, Viper
In the Paint/Detailing shop: Estes Saturn 1B, Red Nova, STM-Bandit, Honest John, Der Saturn Max
Completed!: Interceptor-E, Mini Honest John
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2009, 07:42 AM
Doug Sams's Avatar
Doug Sams Doug Sams is online now
Old Far...er...Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plano, TX resident since 1998.
Posts: 3,839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
I see no reason to write two versions of this website just to support a non-compliant hack job.
If you look up MicroSoft in the dictionary, it says: non-compliant hack job

Seriously, I think I need to make up a bumper sticker with that on it. I'll give you royalties if it sells

Doug

.
__________________
YORF member #11
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2009, 09:15 AM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Sams
If you look up MicroSoft in the dictionary, it says: non-compliant hack job

Seriously, I think I need to make up a bumper sticker with that on it. I'll give you royalties if it sells

Doug

.


With the logo of IE behind a slash-circle...

Might have to work that one up...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2009, 12:22 AM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default Proof in the pudding...

All,

Look how closely the website is rendered in the four Netscape-derived browsers. This is what I have been trying to achieve for the last several years, ever since starting this update project.

Also, note the Nag Screen I've created for those who just won't upgrade either their browser from IE, or who insist on trying to view a graphics-oriented site with any monitor that cannot reproduce at least 1024 pixels across...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:  BARCLONE_WEBSITE_04-01-2009_Chrome.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  186.5 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  BARCLONE_WEBSITE_04-01-2009_Firefox.jpg
Views: 68
Size:  211.3 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  BARCLONE_WEBSITE_04-01-2009_Opera.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  228.5 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  BARCLONE_WEBSITE_04-01-2009_Safari.jpg
Views: 68
Size:  190.8 KB  Click image for larger version

Name:  BARCLONE_WEBSITE_04-01-2009_IE8.jpg
Views: 82
Size:  266.7 KB  
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-09-2009, 02:13 AM
v_thunder v_thunder is offline
Junior Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
Folks,

I'm having to drop support for Internet Explorer on this project. The reason is that IE simply doesn't behave nice with scripts that virtually all of the other browsers handle absolutely beautifully. I've got Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and even Opera on my computer for testing, and all four of those display the scripting identically, or very close to it. All of them "stay inside the lines", and put display elements where I tell them to.

The big killer item is a single IFrame used to display dynamic content (design pages) which is contained inside a DIV element. This allows me to easily adjust the positioning with CSS and a little jQuery for fine-tuning to each user's screen resolution. The four browsers above, which all appear to be Netscape-derived, place things exactly as the CSS tells them. IE, on the other hand, totally ignores the CSS positioning of the IFrame, pinning the upper left corner at the upper left of the screen, instead of the DIV.

Until this behavior changes in IE, I'm simply going to direct IE users to a "Nag Screen" which tells them I'm not supporting it at this time. I see no reason to write two versions of this website just to support a non-compliant hack job.

FWIW, even IE8 is plagued with this issue.


I remember a project where it was chosen not to support a single version of IE due to some issues such as that and a few other ones. Looking good though, checked out your other posts of screen shots.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ye Olde Rocket Shoppe 1998-2018