Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > The Doctor is In! > Ask the Doctor
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 09-20-2012, 02:17 AM
Master Blaster & Harley Rider

Smile Nosecone weights

I'm currently working on another "Madcow" rocket - Seawolf - and the kit is requiring about 1 1/4 pound of lead shot for balancing. To do this, they are asking that I also drill screws into the NC to hold the shot after the epoxy is poured in.

My question is this: After the shot is poured in, what is the best and preferred way to get the epoxy down into the tip of the NC where the shot will be? The length of the NC is about 12" from end to end and is 4" in diameter.

This is the first time I've worked on a rocket that needed that much weight in the NC for balancing. It's also the first time I've worked on a NC that large. I'm just getting into larger rockets that are higher powered and I've found the learning curve to be a little steep at times... ANY AND ALL SUGGESTIONS AND HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED AND WELCOMED.

Have you hugged your Dalmatian today?
Old 09-20-2012, 04:11 AM
Out to launch...

I would do it a different way all together, here's what I do - Before you put anything in the cone, drill a hole through it near the tip, through one side and out the other. Then insert a piece of wood dowel through the hole, with some excess hanging out both sides. Then mix your shot with the epoxy and pour it in from the back. Use dowel to poke at it to make sure it's all in the tip and fairly even. After its all set, trim/sand the protruding dowel ends smooth to the contour of the cone. I've done this on many cones, it's always worked well.
Old 09-20-2012, 07:32 AM
Out to launch...

Here's a picture of a recent cone mod to give you an idea.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:  PIC_2546.JPG
Views: 77
Size:  426.0 KB  
Old 09-20-2012, 01:57 PM
Intermediate Rocketeer

Quote: