PDA

View Full Version : Glue

zeke1312
10-29-2006, 10:45 AM
I'm new at rocket building and would like suggetions on what type of glue to use for construction. Different glue for different parts of a build? Some reasons for one glue type over another? What about body filler?

barone
10-29-2006, 03:13 PM
For general construction, I use white glue. Either WeldBond or Titebond. Elmer's is good also. Just don't use too much. It could shrink on you and make your body tubes look really bad. A yellow carpenter's glue is also used by a lot of rocketeers. Most kits will give a recommendation on glue. Plastic parts usually use a CA adhesive or model cement. Again, the kit should provide some type of recommendation. Higher power stuff and you start looking at using epoxies. I like to use the 5 minute ones because I don't like to sit and wait for it to dry. Normally, the longer the cure time, the higher the strength.

Most of us, I say most based on past post, use Elmer's Fill and Finish for body tubes spiral filling. It's porbably listed as wood filler at the store. Just water it down some and smooth it into the spirals on body tubes or work it into the grain on balsa parts. Some people brush it on but I just like to make a mess and use my finger to push it into the grooves and grains. Need to sand it before you paint and apply some primer (depending upon on how detailed a finish you want). A good sandable primer like Krylon or Kilnz works well. Some folks prefer the Kilnz because it seems to go on thicker, thus filling with fewer coats.

Good luck with your efforts. Remember, if you need help, these forum members have a wealth of information that can be tapped. Also, check out the construction tips at this web site, http://www.apogeerockets.com/education/construction_tips.asp. There're other links there to other places with some more tips for you.

CPMcGraw
10-29-2006, 05:05 PM
Zeke,

Welcome to Model Rocketry Construction 101... :D