PDA

View Full Version : KNO3 /Gasoline oxidiser

Jimbo
09-10-2008, 09:29 AM
Dear Guys,
My first post so be gentle :)

I'm actually a jet guy, not so much rocket, though am working on a project at the moment that requires me to re-think my compression ratio just a little, and thought most of you would have the experience and knowledge to answer a question for me.

I have in the past used other oxidizers like Nitrous oxide in small percentages with gasoline, though it does not mix well. I am curious from your R-candy work...

Is KNO3 miscible with gasoline?
Is combining these two reagents hypergolic?
I'm planning to try mixing a small quantity of KNO3 though am weary of any possible exothermic or other spontaneous reactions.
Any advice on the matter would be greatly appreciated. (And yes I'm am fully aware of the dangers of mixing oxidizers with fuels so please refrain from reminding me of that. I'm an expert at what I do, though I'm not a chemist.)

Thank you for your time gentlemen,
As always be safe.
Regards,
James Irvine.
http://irvineaeropulse.co.nr

rstaff3
09-10-2008, 09:43 AM
I'm not even on the chart as a rcandy expert, however I've never heard of using gasoline with any hobby formulation (sugar or otherwise). AFAIK gasoline is not good to fool with in this regard in general. The question could be fielded better on the Sugpro list http://rocketeers.com/mailman/listinfo/sugpro Stay safe.

Eagle3
09-10-2008, 10:04 AM
I think Goddard was the last to try and use gasoline for rocket fuel. rstaff3 is right. Your best resource is the sugpro group.

Jimbo
09-10-2008, 10:06 AM
Rstaff3:
Thank you for your fast reply.

Perhaps I mislead you into assuming its for a rocket propellant, unfortunately this is untrue. Its actually to supply a special little jet engine for a very specific purpose.

Thank you for your help Rstaff3, and Eagle3, I will check out the information you gave me and in the future when I find if it is safe/unsafe, I will post my findings here.