PDA

View Full Version : RMS 24/40 Ejection Charge Delay

JasonT
06-04-2009, 09:41 AM
Good morning.

I am a newbie to this hobby and I have just progressed to RMS motors.

I built an Aerotech Initiator and successfully flew it on it's maiden launch.

On the next launch, the engine ignited as per usual and sent the rocket skyward. At the apogee, the ejection charge did not fire and the rocket came down as a lawn dart. When it was 10 feet or so from the ground, I heard the ejection charge go off.

The nose cone was damaged and the rocket was irrepairably damaged. I figure that this is part of the learning experience but I am not sure what happened...as I built the motor using the same instructions for both flights.

Any ideas or suggestions for next time?

Thanks in advance!

Doug Sams
06-04-2009, 10:10 AM
At the apogee, the ejection charge did not fire and the rocket came down as a lawn dart. When it was 10 feet or so from the ground, I heard the ejection charge go off.

<snip>

Any ideas or suggestions for next time?There are a couple of possibilities. Which 24/40 motor was it? Delay? It could be that the delay started burning late. Supposedly, this could be due to improper ignitor placement, but I've always been skeptical of that explanation.

My first impression on this was you got some grease on the delay grain - either o-ring lube or merely skin oil. It was enough to slow the burn but not prevent it altogether.

Another possibility is that the wrong delay was supplied with the kit, but I suspect that's one of those notions that's popular 'cause it puts the blame back on the manufacturer http://forums.rocketshoppe.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

FWIW, when I assemble a motor, I get out a couple wipes to clean my hands with. I use the kind that don't have any lotion in them. After lubing the rings, closure threads and the sides of the delay well, I set them aside and thoroughly clean my hands before handling any of the other bits.

HTH.

Doug

GregGleason