Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Semroc > SAM - Semroc Astronautic Modeler Team
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-08-2011, 10:18 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default More To This Story...

Here's something that comes from the Apache group (Apache Webserver folks), and it may be written in JAVA...

How to Convert a SVG File to PNG
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-08-2011, 10:41 PM
Carl@Semroc's Avatar
Carl@Semroc Carl@Semroc is offline
Junior ??? Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Knightdale, NC
Posts: 1,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
If you're talking about SVG, Corel DRAW is doing it for me, and Inkscape will Save As a PNG. I'm 'exporting' from Corel Draw as a PNG without a whimper from it.

I know we're talking about the web interface here, but Inkscape is an OpenSource program hosted on Sourceforge.

The design program outputs .ai format and VML for the vector files. The VML is displayed directly in IE. The .ai file is saved for later. I use CorelDraw to convert the batch of .ai files to .jpg when i have at lease about 20 new files. This is a manual process since the server cannot run Corel scripts. When I output SVG, Safari cannot display it unless it is stored as a file first (for some reason.)
__________________
Carl McLawhorn
NAR#4717 L2
semroc.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-08-2011, 11:10 PM
Solomoriah's Avatar
Solomoriah Solomoriah is offline
Incorrigible Kit Basher
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,821
Default

ImageMagick's convert command can do it:
http://www.imagemagick.org/

as can the rsvg command found in the librsvg package:
http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/gnome/bina...2/librsvg/2.22/

In both cases, you'd probably have to save the SVG output to a temp file, run the command to create a temp PNG, then forward the latter to the user. I'd guess that rsvg would be faster but there's no telling until you try.

EDIT: Just saw Carl's last post. AI is Adobe Illustrator, right? ImageMagick can convert it also, but apparently only with Ghostscript also installed. That'd be a bit much. VML is apparently a real b*tch to convert. If you can go to SVG, though, there are some options (including the above, of course).
__________________
SAM #0076 Licensed to Build
My site: http://rocketry.gonnerman.org
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-09-2011, 08:25 PM
Carl@Semroc's Avatar
Carl@Semroc Carl@Semroc is offline
Junior ??? Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Knightdale, NC
Posts: 1,470
Default

The Balsa Designer now uses Raphael and should work on most browsers. It uses Raphael and requires Java ( like about everything else.) It works on Safari, IE8, Chrome, and Safari on an iPhone.
__________________
Carl McLawhorn
NAR#4717 L2
semroc.com

Last edited by Carl@Semroc : 02-09-2011 at 09:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-21-2011, 12:41 PM
Carl@Semroc's Avatar
Carl@Semroc Carl@Semroc is offline
Junior ??? Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Knightdale, NC
Posts: 1,470
Default

Is everyone able to view the cones on the new Balsa Designer?

I am going to convert all our online parts to Rafael if everyone can view them. It is easier to generate them programatically instead of using a manual process to convert from .AI to .JPG or .PNG.
__________________
Carl McLawhorn
NAR#4717 L2
semroc.com
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-21-2011, 01:02 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Carl,

When I change the shape drop-down to something other than where it defaults (ogive), there is no visible change to that shape. If I press "refresh", the image not only does not refresh to the new shape, the whole data area at the bottom disappears off the window.

Environment: Safari 5.0.3, Windows 7 Pro

Addendum: Just tried it with IE8. Same effect. No refresh, blank data area at the bottom...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-21-2011, 01:02 PM
jharding58's Avatar
jharding58 jharding58 is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 1,936
Default

Thanks Carl. This seems to be fine with IE8 under XP
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:  IE8.JPG
Views: 16
Size:  217.7 KB  
__________________
Gravity is a harsh mistress
SAM 002
NAR 91005
"The complexity of living is eminently favored to the simplicity of not."
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-21-2011, 01:16 PM
Carl@Semroc's Avatar
Carl@Semroc Carl@Semroc is offline
Junior ??? Rocketeer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Knightdale, NC
Posts: 1,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMcGraw
Carl,

When I change the shape drop-down to something other than where it defaults (ogive), there is no visible change to that shape. If I press "refresh", the image not only does not refresh to the new shape, the whole data area at the bottom disappears off the window.

Environment: Safari 5.0.3, Windows 7 Pro

Addendum: Just tried it with IE8. Same effect. No refresh, blank data area at the bottom...

Did you give it a name before refreshing it? I assume you do see the cone now?
__________________
Carl McLawhorn
NAR#4717 L2
semroc.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-21-2011, 01:34 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl@Semroc
Did you give it a name before refreshing it? I assume you do see the cone now?


That was the problem! Thanks, Carl. Now my two Foxhound cones are entered safely.
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-21-2011, 02:15 PM
Eagle3's Avatar
Eagle3 Eagle3 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester,MI
Posts: 1,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl@Semroc
Is everyone able to view the cones on the new Balsa Designer?

I am going to convert all our online parts to Rafael if everyone can view them. It is easier to generate them programatically instead of using a manual process to convert from .AI to .JPG or .PNG.


Yep, I can view fine. When you get a moment could you tell me the two cat numbers I have saved?

Thanks,
Buzz
__________________
Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ye Olde Rocket Shoppe 1998-2019